Wednesday, March 26, 2014

A Most Scandalous Proposl by Ashlyn Macnamara

A Most Scandalous ProposalBook Description:
In Ashlyn Macnamara’s stunning romance debut—perfect for fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries—two childhood friends in Regency England discover love with the most unlikely of partners: each other.
After watching her beloved sister Sophia pine over the ton’s Golden Boy for years, Miss Julia St. Claire has foresworn love and put herself firmly on the shelf. Unfortunately, her social-climbing mother and debt-ridden father have other ideas, and jump at the chance to marry Julia off to the newly-named Earl of Clivesden…the man of Sophia’s dreams.
Since resigning his Cavalry commission, Benedict Revelstoke has spent his time in London avoiding the marriage mart. But when he discovers that the Earl of Clivesden has set Julia in his sights, Benedict tries to protect his childhood best friend from the man’s advances—only to discover more than friendship driving his desire to defend her. He surprises them both with the force of his feelings, but when she refuses him and her father announces her betrothal, he fears he’s lost her forever—until Julia approaches him with a shocking scheme that will ruin her for all respectable society…
…and lead them into an exquisite world of forbidden pleasures.

My Thoughts:
I really enjoyed this book.  The ton is exactly the place where Mrs. St. Claire wants her daughters to be.  Neither has made a match yet and have turned down multiple offers of marriage.  Sophia has been entranced with a man that every woman in the ton has wanted (and several of them have had) for the past five years.  Julia has a best friend in Benedict and is none too happy when the object of her sister's affections turns his sights on her.  Both sisters do plenty to get the tongues wagging all across the ton and perhaps just find their perfect matches after all.
I loved that this book wasn't simply focused on one couple.  Sure it was about a love triangle of sorts, but not just one!  There was plenty of scandal.  I'm not sure which of the gentlemen was my favorite, though I truly did fall for Benedict.  He was so strong and determined.  The same could be said for Highgate.  I completely didn't like Clivesden and his friend.  I also wasn't overly fond of Mr. St. Claire, but that was exactly what the author wanted.  It is a great story about sisters and their love, bot for each other and for the men in their lives.
I rate this a 4/5.  If you love historical romance and waltzing around with the people of the ton, Ashlyn Macnamara has a book here that you will love!

Thank you to the author/publisher for the review copy of this book (via netgalley).  I received this book in exchange for an honest review and the opinions stated above are 100% mine.


Post a Comment